Trying to understand cost basis using Shared Pool / Individual

Hi, Uk tax payer here :slight_smile:

I made a test ETH trade today, where I bought 0.42 ETH and then hit a stop minutes later which sold the 0.42 ETH. My crystallised loss was about ~$2.

What is confusing me a bit is this:

I understand that the shared cost pooling is at work here and considers my sale to be liable for gains because it doesn’t match it with the buy transaction earlier to work out that the trade was a loss.

So in real terms, what does this gain mean for my taxes ? Do I have to pay gains for a losing trade because my overall cost basis was fairly low ?

I was under the impression that buys and sells of the same asset class on the same day were put into a separate pool.

I’m fairly new to all this so any help is much appreciated !

2 Likes

Never heard of this, but I’m not from the UK.

Not tax advice but, one thing you can do is to soft delete both transactions. Make a USDT transaction to keep the books balanced.

From HMRC’s tax advice:

Acquiring within 30 days of selling

Special pooling rules apply if an individual acquires tokens of a cryptoasset:

• on the same day that they dispose tokens of the same cryptoasset (even if the disposal took place before the acquisition)
  • within 30 days after they disposed of tokens of the same cryptoasset

If the special rules apply, the new cryptoassets and the costs of acquiring them stay separate from the main pool. The gain or loss should be calculated using the costs of the new tokens of the cryptoasset that are kept separate.

If the number of tokens disposed of exceeds the number of new tokens acquired, then the calculation of any gain or loss may also include an appropriate proportion of the pooled allowable cost.

Unless I am mistaken this would cover any trade you close out or part-close within a 30 day period.

The rules are in a koinly article here: https://koinly.io/blog/calculating-crypto-taxes-uk-share-pooling/